The ACC Debate Championship is funded by the ACC Academic Consortium, which is supported by a special fund within the conference budget and guided by the universities’ presidents, provosts and chief undergraduate education officers. In its 15th year, the ACCAC builds upon familiarity and identity nurtured by athletic competition among the 15 universities, with the mission of enhancing the academic experience of all students and the success of faculty and administrators through collaborative programs, ideas, and recognitions.

In 2018 Clemson hosted 12 teams around a medical ethics topic.  The date and site of the 2019 debate is still to be determined.  Contact for the most recent information.

Debate Champions

  • 2017: Brent Mitchell and Adam Tomasi, Wake Forest
  • 2016: Adam Tomasi and Jack Manchester – Wake Forest
  • 2015: Lee Quinn and Taylor Cameron – Wake Forest

Debate Championship Hosts

  • Clemson University, March 2-3, 2018
  • University of Miami March 31-April 2, 2017
  • University of North Carolina, April 15-17, 2016
  • Wake Forest University, April 10-12, 2015